Why should anyone use Haskell?


Why should anyone use Haskell?

So, hi. I've started learning Haskell fairly recently (using Learn You A Haskell) and I'm getting pretty into it. I'm fairly interested in functional programming because it seems more intuitive to me than imperative programming (once you get past the difficulty you experience when moving from imperative to functional).

Here's my question though. On the wikipedia, it says that Haskell is used in Academia. While it's really, really awesome, I don't understand why.

For instance, if I were to look at computational physics which relies heavily on computational power, then Haskell would be practically worthless because (I've heard that) Haskell is extremely resource hungry (probably from all that recursion). But if the language serves no practical purpose other than intuitive code and amazing readability, I don't understand why anyone should even learn Haskell.

I might have gotten a lot of things wrong, so please, fire at will.

Yours, a budding Haskell programmer.

Submitted August 08, 2017 at 11:04PM by kitizl
via reddit http://ift.tt/2ulRsro

What do you work on?


What do you work on?

I'm wondering what people that work on Scala work on. I've started to learn it recently at work and really enjoy it. Unfortunately, it seems like 90% of the job openings for Scala are big data that require more data science related things that I wouldn't be able to get the experience on, if I ever actually decided to try my hand at a Scala job.

Submitted August 08, 2017 at 09:52PM by natdm
via reddit http://ift.tt/2fpAgyh

Bob Harper HoTT lectures: The perfect bridge to the book. Also: Help turning Tex into PDFs?


Bob Harper HoTT lectures: The perfect bridge to the book. Also: Help turning Tex into PDFs?

I am a beginning programmer who is now watching the excellent homotopy type theory lectures by Bob Harper. I know they were discussed here before a few years ago, but a definitive verdict never seems to have come in. And I have it: They are excellent! Some of the most exciting and helpful video lectures I have ever seen on any subject; until Bartosz Milewski decides to take on type theory, these will be the gold standard! I plan on posting a fuller review in the future, because they more than deserve the attention.

For some reason though–maybe because they are not on YouTube–these seem to be very obscure. The Web seems to be full of people struggling with the HoTT book, and nearly empty of people discussing these videos. They are exactly what any beginner needs to get completely up to speed to read that book, or even to get up to speed in type theory in general. Not (to my knowledge) any "intro to HoTT" lectures (for "programmers"/"the rest of us"/etc. or otherwise) on YouTube, and not even the Harper lectures from the various Oregon Summer Schools. This is what you need, period.

Anyway, much as I have enjoyed these lectures (if not their video format on my old computer!), I would like to supplement with the lecture notes. The problem is that the up to date revisions are only available in Tex format. And I am not only a complete "computer illiterate," but I am not even a mathematician, so I don't know anything about how to work with Tex. I have spent eight hours (and more disk space than I can afford) over the past two days trying every way I can find to turn these files into PDFs. I keep getting weird error messages that I can't fix or understand. If someone can tell me the best place to find help (I use Linux Mint–but again, barely understood enough to manage to install it) that would be great; but in all honesty, at this point I'm just trying to get the PDFs! They haven't been updated in years; maybe if they are posted here this post can become a convenient place for people in my frustrated position who want the corrected PDFs too.

I apologize if this post was inappropriate. I don't know much about Reddit (or the Web in general) either, as it happens. This is the subreddit that I have loved coming to as I teach myself programming; it's been so helpful; and I couldn't find any place more appropriate to get help on this matter. There does seem to be a wide variety of posts here, after all; and everybody is a beginner sometime and, like I said, this post could help future novices like me who are watching the Harper lectures and want to get the most out of them! Thank you to anyone who can help.

Submitted August 08, 2017 at 10:24PM by DoYouEvenLiftIO
via reddit http://ift.tt/2ulxVeK