Arch & Haskell


Arch & Haskell

Hi,

I'm facing huge problems with my Haskell installation on Arch. For some reason I got into dependency hell. So I decided to start over completely. I removed all Haskell packages (haskell-*) on my system. I removed stack and I removed cabal-install. Then I installed cabal-install (including its dependecies of course with pacman) and removed ~/.ghc, ~/.cabal and ~/.stack. So thinking of being completely fresh I tried to build stack from there. But even that fails with linker errors. For instance I get:

Linking dist/build/hspec-discover/hspec-discover ... /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSdirectory-1.3.0.0 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSunix-2.7.2.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSbytestring-0.10.8.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHStime-1.6.0.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSdeepseq-1.4.2.0 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSarray-0.5.1.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSfilepath-1.4.1.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSbase-4.9.1.0 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSinteger-gmp-1.0.0.1 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSghc-prim-0.5.0.0 /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lHSrts collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status `gcc' failed in phase `Linker'. (Exit code: 1) 

What is going wrong? What am I doing wrong? Has anyone had the same problems, or has ideas. I tried fixing it all day yesterday. I tried installing stack only, and building from there. I tried using stack-static from AUR, I tried using cabal-install-git from AUR. And so on. I really got no clue what I can do anymore.

When I install Haskell tools e.g. stack via pacman I already get a lot of warnings in the 'Registering Haskell modules' section for various packages:

... hackage-security-0.5.2.2: dependency "network-2.6.3.2-IsLM4TXcLoRI0fmmBYVyQz" doesn't exist (ignoring) ... 

Why is that, after I removed all haskell tools? Can anyone give me a hint how to fix this?

Submitted July 16, 2017 at 04:33PM by schnecki004
via reddit http://ift.tt/2uxizDB

Leave a Reply

