Do you think it’s wasteful to learn Haskell for things that could easily be done with Python?


Do you think it’s wasteful to learn Haskell for things that could easily be done with Python?

So, Python is my main language. The most common thing I use it for is automating the browser with selenium, storing some information inside of files and a little web development.
The goal of learning another language is to get used to different concepts/expand my mind as far as programming goes. I like Haskell's short syntax, and with it not being OOP I could begin to see programming from a different angle.

At first glace, using cabal appears to be as easy as using pip, which sounds good.

But Haskell's steeper learning curve makes me wonder if it could take quite a while. I think that usually, the more verbose languages are often the harder ones but with Haskell it seems to be the other way around.
I considered Clojure to meet these goals, but I have to admit it's syntax can get a little ugly at times. An example is functions that take maps as arguments – you already use parenthesis everywhere in Clojure, but for that you're adding braces and brackets to the mix.

Submitted July 13, 2017 at 06:46AM by ForrestTrump
via reddit http://ift.tt/2tO1Ybo

Leave a Reply

